Wish You Were Hear: Richmond Sluts meet Prima Donna

richmond sluts1

Richmond Sluts, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

During the month of June, I had a small feature on The Bold Italic called “Wish You Were Hear.” Each week I posted a smattering of photos and animated GIFs of shows I saw the week before; occasionally I included a playlist to accompany the visual media. Not a bad gig, eh? Especially since it broke my awesome habit of taking photos and doing absolutely nothing with them unless someone prodded me into action.

I’m fully aware that few folks care about show photography except for maybe the bands pictured, but I’m going to (try to) keep the ball rolling here each week. I’m even going to keep calling it “Wish You Were Hear” (or at least until I get a cease-and-desist notice from TBI). So here goes:

Friday, June 28, at the Hemlock Tavern saw the return of the Richmond Sluts, a millennial San Francisco rock’n’roll band. Also on the bill were Prima Donna from L.A. and Cash for Gold, whom I missed. I was lucky to catch the tail end of Prima Donna’s set, including their big surprise: asking Jeff Drake of ’70s punk band the Joneses to jump on stage to play “Pillbox” with them. The Richmond Sluts had their own special guest (Lydia Walker of the Wicked Mercies), who joined them on one of the dozen songs they performed.

To be honest, even though I have a couple Richmond Sluts records (including an album by their offshoot Big Midnight), I don’t remember much about them except that one of them jumped on the hood of my car after a show one night, asking where the party was. However, I probably wouldn’t be too wrong if I said they played and sounded better in 2013 than they did in 2003. Judging by the singalongs and dancing despite the sweltering heat, I’m pretty sure their fans left in good, sweaty spirits. Here’s how the night went down.

prima donna1

Prima Donna, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

prima donna2

Prima Donna, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

prima donna3

Jeff Drakes (Joneses) with Prima Donna, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

prima donna4

Jeff Drakes (Joneses) with Prima Donna, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

richmond sluts2

Richmond Sluts, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

richmond sluts3

Richmond Sluts, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

richmond sluts4

Richmond Sluts with Lydia Walker (Wicked Mercies), Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

richmond sluts5

richmond sluts6

Richmond Sluts, Hemlock Tavern, San Francisco

2 Comments

Filed under music, photography, wish you were hear

2 responses to “Wish You Were Hear: Richmond Sluts meet Prima Donna

  1. Liz

    Lydia Walker was also in big midnight. Thought you should know….

Leave a Reply

