The Night I Could’ve Held Nick Cave’s Sweaty Hand

nick cave01

Wild man Nick Cave

(Note: I’m basically posting this for my friend Laura, who’s been a huge Nick Cave fan for nearly four decades. Please check out this excellent write-up by Ian S. Port of the SF Weekly if you crave coherent, relevant words to accompany these pictures.)

I finally saw Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds when they performed on April 9 at Bill Graham Civic Auditorium…and they were pretty incredible. Unfortunately, I arrived too late to get front and center so I hung out next to the pulsating speakers at the edge of the stage for a while. Had I stayed, good ol’ Nick might’ve clutched my hand during “Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry” (see video below for a glimpse of the frenzy), but alas I had shimmied closer toward center stage by that point, hoping for better angles for my little Olympus PEN E-P2. At the very least, from my new vantage point I could behold Warren Ellis’s mesmerizing violin assaults more clearly, even if I couldn’t make out Barry Adamson and the Saints’ Ed Kuepper. I captured one of these assaults (see clip below) during “Deanna,” which I was surprised and thrilled they did since it was the most upbeat song of the evening and one of the handful that wasn’t from their latest album Push the Sky Away. Hope you enjoy!

nick cave02

nick cave03

nick cave04
nick cave11
nick cave12
nick cave05
nick cave07
nick cave08
nick cave09
nick cave10
nick cave06

Leave a comment

Filed under music, photography

Leave a Reply

