Alls I Got Is R-N-R, or November 1993 playlists

reatards

The Reatards, San Francisco, 10.29.05 | Canon Powershot A80, 7.8mm, 2.5 sec, f8

How is it November already? These past few months have been a bit of a mental marathon for me, what with weddings, honeymoons, and funerals to tackle in addition to life in general. It continues today as I cram five decades of music into three hours (9am-noon PST, to be exact) on KALX to make up for my lack of participation in its 50th anniversary this year. Although I allotted 30 minutes per decade, I have a feeling the show’s going to sound not much different from what I usually do.

From my personal archives I dug up live performances of the Reatards (11/10/99) and the Mind Controls (05/06), as well as interviews with Jo Callis of the Rezillos (6/22/02) and a never-before-aired one with Matt Dangerfield and Honest John Plain of the Boys (9/23/00). I couldn’t find the recordings of my interviews with the Buzzcocks or Heavenly in 1994, but “spastic” comes to mind so that’s probably just as well.

Speaking of spastic, C and I will have a photo exhibit at the Rite Spot in San Francisco beginning this Sunday, with a reception from 5-8pm. Proceeds from all photo sales will go towards the hospital bills of our dear friend Reggie Destin, who was struck by a drunk driver while skateboarding in a Chicago bike lane; he died from his injuries a week later. We miss his warm smile, big laugh, and huge heart but will strive to live life as fully and selflessly as he did.

messin' around: a photo exhibit

* = feature play
$ = request

11/03/93: WEDNESDAY 12-3:30am

* LINCOLN – Stop Means Stop
UNIVERSAL ORDER OF ARMAGEDDON – City
* SLEEPING BODY – Logo Gram
CANDLE – Silver

HEROIN – Head Cold
ZERO BOYS – Amphetamine Addiction
BLATZ – Homemade Speed
* SONIC YOUTH/CYPRESS HILL – I Love You Mary Jane
FANG – Puff the Magic Dragon

PETER, PAUL & MARY – Lemon Tree
* ENGINE KID – Mountain High
$ HAWKWIND – Be Yourself
$ THE SPECIALS – Blank Expression
* EVERREADY – Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

CRIMPSHRINE – My Friend
OPERATION IVY – Healthy Body
BOW WOW WOW – What’s the Time (Hey Buddy)?
THE SLITS – I Heard It through the Grapevine
* HEAVENLY – P.U.N.K. Girl
$ TIGER TRAP – Words & Smiles

THE FASTBACKS – I Won’t Regret
FLOWER DRUM SONG soundtrack – I Enjoy Being a Girl
GAY PUREE soundtrack – Mewsette
MARLENE DIETRICH – Lili Marlene
Peter Gunn

$ THE UNDERTONES – More Songs about Chocolate and Girls
* NEERDOWELLS/JUDY & THE LOADIES – We’re Hot Looking
* SWINGIN’ NECKBREAKERS – Lil’ Pink Medicine
JOHNNY PEEBUCKS & THE SWINGIN’ UTTERS – L.O.V.E. I Hate You
* THE HELLBILLIES – Surf Zombies

$ NEW BOMB TURKS – Born Toulouse-Lautrec
THE MISFITS – Teenagers from Mars
NAKED RAYGUN – I Don’t Know
$ ECONOCHRIST – Comabox
* BIKINI KILL – Rebel Girl

STAN GETZ – Girl from Ipanema
ETHEL MERMAN – I Get a Kick out of You
* RAOOUL – Anna Joy
OLD SKULL – Hot Dog Hell
ROLLING SCABS – We’re the Scabs

EATER – You
GRIMPLE – All Grown Up
STIFF LITTLE FINGERS – Can’t Say Crap on the Radio
* BOYRACER – I’ve Got It & It’s Not Worth Having
WIZARD OF OZ soundtrack – We’re off to See the Wizard
MUSIC MAN soundtrack – Gary, Indiana
TOY DOLLS – She Goes to Finos

11/19/93: FRIDAY 9am-12pm

SAM COOKE – Stop Means Stop
THE PLATTERS – Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
STAN GETZ – The Girl from Ipanema
GRIMPLE – All Grown Up
ROLLING SCABS – We’re the Scabs

OLD SKULL – Skate or Die
EATER – Outside View
* RAOOUL – Summer Nights
MADBALL – It’s My Life
THE DAMNED – Neat Neat Neat
THE BUZZCOCKS – Nostalgia

COCK SPARRER – Take ’em All
STIFF LITTLE FINGERS – No More of That
$ SID VICIOUS – I Wanna Be Your Dog
* THE SMEARS – Kicked My Butt
VICE SQUAD – Stand Strong Stand Proud

THE SLITS – Vindictive
THE AVENGERS – Corpus Christi
BLATZ – Cockroach Cafe/I Don’t Care
DOROTHY LAMOUR – Panamania
KISS ME KATE soundtrack – I Hate Men
FRED ASTAIRE – Cheek to Cheek

* LINCOLN – Seed
* GODHEAD SILO – Friendship Village
JON SPENCER BLUES EXPLOSION – Soul Typecast
$ JOHNNY THUNDERS – Born to Lose

CURRENT – Could I
CANDLE – Again
* HEAVENLY – P.U.N.K. Girl
* BOYRACER – Beautiful Lines
BACHELOR PAD – Do It for Fun

* YE OLDE ENGLISH – Christmas
SELECTER – Carry Go Bring Come
*$ CHUMBAWUMBA – Day the Nazi Died
JOHNNY PEEBUCKS & THE SWINGIN’ UTTERS – L.O.V.E. I Hate You
THE JAM – Strange Town
THE ADVERTS – Gary Gilmore’s Eyes

THE REZILLOS – Thunderbirds Are Go
THE RAMONES – Go Lil’ Camaro Go
THE HARD-ONS – Bye Bye Girl
* SCREECHING WEASEL – Thrift Store Girl
SHOP ASSISTANTS – All Day Long
* EVERREADY – Leavin’ on a Jet Plane

$ JOLT – Let It Go
UNDERSIDE – Known
DISNEY soundtrack – Winnie the Pooh
TOMMY ROT – Not One of Mine
BLITZ – Someone’s Gonna Die


11/22/93: MONDAY 1-3:30am

$ MEL TORME – When the Sun Comes Out
GAY PUREE soundtrack – Little Drops of Rain
JUDY GARLAND- Somewhere Over the Rainbow
DISNEY soundtrack – Winnie the Pooh
CRINGER – Cottleston Pie

CRIMPSHRINE – Summertime
* EVERREADY – Leavin’ on a Jet Plane
* JOLT – Heaven’s Child
$ SOFT BOYS – When I Was a Kid
ROBYN HITCHCOCK – Unsettled

ZERO BOYS – High Time
GRIMPLE – All Grown Up
* GLOO GIRLS – Ex-con
JOHNNY PEEBUCKS & THE SWINGIN’ UTTERS – All Laced Up
$ THE FALL – Mr. Pharmacist

* KEPONE – Prisoners
JAWBREAKER – With or Without U-2
THE MISFITS – I Turned into a Martian
JUDY & THE LOADIES – Soap Soap Soap
THE DELMONAS – Jealousy
* THE SMEARS – Old & Lonely

THE AVENGERS – We Are the One
$ THE PLASMATICS – I Want You Baby
TALULAH GOSH – Break Your Face
KISS ME KATE soundtrack – I Hate Men

SPITBOY – Ultimate Violator
NENA – 99 Luftballoons
* LOIS – Trouble with Me
DELIGHTFUL LIL’ NOTHINGS – Over Us
* HEAVENLY – Hearts & Crosses

HARRY CONNICK JR. – It Had to Be You
DOROTHY LAMOUR – Panamania
JOHNNY MATHIS – It’s Not for Me to Say
THE HOLLIES – Carrie Anne
SAM COOKE – You Send Me

COCK SPARRER – Take ’em All
THE REVILLOS – Where’s the Boy for Me?
* THE FLATMATES – I Could Be in Heaven
THE BUZZCOCKS – Ever Fallen in Love
$ SHAM 69 – I’m a Man, I’m a Boy
STIFF LITTLE FINGERS –  Fly the Flag
* SCREECHING WEASEL – Peter Brady
MR. T EXPERIENCE – Somebody Wants to Love You

* THE BOLLWEEVILS – 999-Stoney
$ LITTLE MY – Ohio
CHICKENHEAD – Chickenhead Won the War
THEE MIGHTY CAESARS – Now I Know

EATER – Room for One
THE JAM – I’ve Changed My Address

Leave a comment

Filed under music, nostalgia, playlist

Leave a Reply

